October 2, 2023

Women’s conference committee looking for names of past recipients

It’s been 25 years since the College of Eastern Utah and the women of Southeastern Utah have been honoring an outstanding woman of Carbon County at their annual spring women’s conference.
In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the conference, this year’s organizers plan to create a plaque with past recipients names on it. “We hope to display the plaque somewhere people can see the women’s names who have helped shape the local area into the wonderful place it is now,” says Dr. Susan Polster, chairperson of the event. Like most historical records, we are missing a few names of past recipients to be included in the plaque.
The past list of honorees includes Arva Smith, Myrtle Bryner, Jan Oliveto, Helen Smith, Janet Prazen, Francis Cunningham, Edna Romano, Olga Spencer, Nancy Bentley, Helen Bunnell, Mary Helen Powell, Thelma Jones, Gunda Cromar, Emma Kuykendall, Joan Sellars, Virginia Wheeler, Leslie Tallerico, Sherill Burge, Kathy Murray, Colleen Quigley and Jeanne Housekeeper. We know we have missed some names and hope that someone who knows who we have forgotten will contact the college at 613-5213.
The 2004 conference is set for Friday, April 16 with Norma Mattheson keynoting the afternoon session.

%d bloggers like this: